The Oath of Installation

Here’s a short passage involving two characters: Priestess Diana Poulan and Commander Darleen Hughes, at the conclusion of the Battlestar Rubicon‘s Commissioning Ceremony:

Applause filled the arena as Priestess Diana Poulan addressed the multitude. “And now, may I present the Rubicon’s first Commanding Officer, Commander Darleen Hughes. Please step forward for the Oath of Installation.”
Commander Hughes, who received her official promotion two days previously, rose from her chain and approached the podium. She stood to Poulan’s left, and then the two of them turned to face each other.
Poulan unrolled her scroll reader. “Commander, please raise your right hand and repeat after me.” Hughes did so, and the priestess began. “I, state your name….”
“I, Darleen Alyssa Hughes…”
“…in my capacity as Commanding Officer…”
“…in my capacity as Commanding Officer…”
“…and on behalf of the crew…”
“…and on behalf of the crew…”
“…of the Battlestar Rubicon…”
“…of the Battlestar Rubicon…”
“…solemnly swear to protect and defend the Twelve Colonies of Kobol…”
“…solemnly swear to protect and defend the Twelve Colonies of Kobol…”
“…against all enemies, foreign and domestic…”
“…against all enemies, foreign and domestic…”
“With every fiber of my being.”
“With every fiber of my being.”
“So Say We All.”
“So Say We All!”

